Tuesday, 19 February 2019

Utah Car Insurance Guide

Driving in the nation’s second fastest-growing state means you’ll have more and more company on the road. Luckily, by following all of the car insurance requirements for Utah, you can enjoy the ski slopes, canyoneering and kayaking without worrying about bumping into a new friend on the way there without proper coverage. This guide will point you in the right direction.

Want to skip to the car insurance quotes? Jump to the front of the line.

Utah Auto Insurance Requirements
Utah drivers face a few minimum requirements in order to meet car insurance compliance. These include liability insurance minimums of $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $65,000 per accident for bodily injury and $15,000 per accident for property injury. For savvy auto insurance buyers, this translates to 25/65/15. Remember: Be sure to keep proof of your insurance on hand at all times, as you could be cited even if you’re compliant with these minimums.

Don’t know what those numbers mean? Check out our liability coverage page.

Comprehensive and collision insurance aren’t required in Utah, but because it’s a “no-fault” state, Utah does mandate that all drivers carry personal injury protection (PIP) in the amount of $3,000. This is coverage that will be used toward medical expenses from an accident.

Despite the fact that Utah’s minimum requirements are more expensive than many states, only about 8 percent of its drivers are uninsured, which compares favorably with a national average of 13.8 percent. Perhaps because of this, Utah does not mandate that drivers obtain uninsured motorist insurance.

Remember that meeting Utah’s auto insurance requirements constitutes the bare minimum; you may choose to consider additional PIP to go toward medical payments, as well as collision insurance and comprehensive coverage. Meeting your insurance liability is only one hurdle in an accident, being able to cover other out-of-pocket expenses is the other.

Utah Auto Insurance Discounts
Your car insurance premium only tells half the story. The many discounts you may be eligible for round out the rate. Utah auto insurance discounts run the gamut, from good student discounts and bundled policy discounts, to employer or affinity group discounts and safe driving discounts.

Utah Auto Insurance Penalties
So what happens if you throw caution to the wind, and decide not to comply with Utah’s mandatory car insurance guidelines? Well, in Utah, it’s tough to slip past Johnny Law, the real deal and his virtual counterpart. That’s because Utah maintains a database that designates which of the state’s registered drivers are compliant, and which are not. The latter group get a letter in their mailbox asking for proof of insurance.

Failure to carry insurance can result in a fine of between $400 and $1,000. Utah won’t renew a driver’s license until the minimum car insurance requirements are met and he or she pays a reinstatement fee.

To learn the full rundown on auto insurance compliance in Utah, visit the state’s online auto insurance resource.

Related pages